“Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, when one only remembers to turn on the light.” -Albus Dumbledore

The quote in my title is from the third Harry Potter book, The Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling. I interpret the second half of the quote as meaning two different things. The first thing that this could mean is trying to view bad things in a different perspective. When you look into a dark room, you may see dark lumps or shadowy figures. However, when you turn on the lights, you realize that you are really just looking at some clothes, a chair, or maybe some toys which is a lot less intimidating. On days where I come home from school stressed about homework or projects that are almost due, it helps to take a second and think about what I actually have to work on. By mentally turning on the lights, I often find that the work is not as imposing as I made it seem in my head. The other thing that turning on the lights could mean is focusing on the bright things in life. When you’ve had a bad day, a way to cheer yourself up is to point out all of the good things. I often do this when something bad has happened that is beyond my control since there really isn’t much that you can do.

One thought on ““Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, when one only remembers to turn on the light.” -Albus Dumbledore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *